Bergen County NJ Juvenile Aggravated Assault Lawyer
Juvenile Defense Attorney in Hackensack, New Jersey
Aggravated Assault is a serious crime in New Jersey, regardless of whether it is committed by a juvenile or an adult. The offense of aggravated assault can involve a range of conduct, including use of a deadly weapon, infliction of serious bodily injury, or simple assault when the victim is a law enforcement officer, teacher or school employee, firefighter, or another public servant. Depending on the circumstances of the specific case, the degree of aggravated assault charges, and associated penalties, are similarly variable. However, one thing is consistent: these charges can spell long-term consequences for those who are ultimately found guilty.
Alissa Hascup is a highly experienced New Jersey juvenile defense attorney who regularly advocates for minors, college students, and young adults facing criminal charges in Bergen County, Morris County, Passaic County, Essex County, and across New Jersey. With offices in Morristown, Camden, Little Falls, and Hackensack, Ms. Hascup represents clients in courts in Paterson, New Brunswick, Elizabeth, Freehold, and beyond. Her experience as a former prosecutor and Special Deputy Attorney General has made her a formidable opponent for anyone who seeks to prosecute her clients. In fact, she was recently named among the Top 100 Criminal Trial Lawyers, by the National Trial Lawyers Association. If you or your child are facing charges for aggravated assault in New Jersey, Alissa can help. Simply contact her offices at 862-257-1200 to receive a free consultation.
Aggravated Assault in New Jersey
Aggravated Assault is a criminal offense in New Jersey, outlined in section N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1 of the State s criminal code. Aggravated Assault encompasses a wide range of actions. According to the statute, a person can be charged with aggravated assault for:
- Attempting to cause, or actually causing, serious bodily injury
- Attempting to cause, or actually causing, bodily injury with a deadly weapon
- Pointing or displaying a firearm at, or in the direction of, another person
- Causing bodily injury while fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer or unlawfully operating a motor vehicle
- Starting a fire that causes bodily injury to any emergency services personnel
- Committing simple assault against a law enforcement officer, fireman, emergency services personnel, school board members, school administrators, teachers, school bus drivers, or other employees of a public or nonpublic school or school board, employees of the Division of Child Protection and Permanency, judges, train or bus operators, or Department of Corrections employees.
Since aggravated assault offenses are very fact-specific, these charges can vary from fourth degree crimes to second degree crimes. For a juvenile facing aggravated assault charges, a fourth degree crime may result in up to 1 year of detention, a third degree crime is punishable by up to 2 years detention, and a second degree crime entails a maximum of 3 years in a juvenile detention facility. In some cases, the State can seek to waive a juvenile up to adult court, which means he or she will be charged as an adult and face the much harsher penalties associated with a conviction in adult criminal court.
Juvenile Charges for Aggravated Assault in New Jersey
When you are facing juvenile charges for aggravated assault, you are subject to the rules and procedures of the New Jersey Juvenile Justice system, which applies to defendants under the age of 18. This means that your case will most likely be held in the Family Division of the Superior Court in the county in which you live. In other words, if you are accused of aggravated assault in Paterson, but you live in Paramus, your case will be heard in Bergen County Superior Court. The law requires that you have an attorney defending you during these proceedings, and if you have one who is experienced in juvenile defense, he or she can position you for the best possible result.
Notably, in juvenile court, you are not entitled to a trial by jury. Instead, a single Juvenile Court Judge will decide your guilt or innocence. If you are found guilty of aggravated assault, you are “adjudicated delinquent,” as opposed to “convicted,” which applies to adults. During juvenile sentencing, the judge is bound by the legal standard of the best interests of the child. This means that judges consider the nature and circumstances of the offense; your age, previous record, and social services received; and your unique needs before imposing a sentence. Also, the juvenile justice system promotes rehabilitation and reform of juvenile offenders, so alternative sentences are common. Instead of juvenile detention, juvenile sentences may involve probation, community service, mental health counseling, or restitution payments. You need a lawyer on your side who will argue for the most favorable resolution.
Contact Essex County NJ Juvenile Aggravated Assault Attorney Today
If you, or your son or daughter, is a minor or young adult facing aggravated assault charges in New Jersey, you may be dealing with criminal prosecution and school discipline proceedings. Alissa Hascup zealously defends young people in criminal courts and education proceedings. To speak with Ms. Hascup about how she can help you, contact The Law Offices of Alissa Hascup today at 862-257-1200. Alissa represents clients in Essex County, Middlesex County, Union County, Somerset County, and throughout New Jersey. She will be happy to provide you with a free phone consultation and/or schedule a meeting at the office location nearest you.