Teaneck NJ Juvenile Criminal Sexual Contact Lawyer
Juvenile and Student Sex Crimes Defense Attorney in Bergen County, New Jersey
It can arise at any time, totally unexpected: an allegation of a sex crime. In that moment, your life can change in ways you never imagined. Sadly, a conviction for a sex crime can result in immediate consequences and long-term repercussions, including sex offender registration under New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. In the case of criminal sexual contact charges, the two people involved do not engage in sexual intercourse. In fact, criminal sexual contact involves touching, and the facts of these cases can be extremely nuanced. Conflicting statements among the defendant and the alleged victim can portray the say situation in vastly different ways. If you are a juvenile or a young adult accused of criminal sexual contact in New Jersey, you are exposed to some of the most permanently harmful penalties in the New Jersey Criminal Code. Ultimately, you cannot risk the possibility of a negative outcome. You need an experienced and aggressive New Jersey sex crimes defense attorney fighting for you.
Alissa Hascup is an award-winning defense attorney who regularly advocates for juveniles, students, and young adults charged with criminal offenses like criminal sexual contact in New Jersey. As a former Prosecutor and Special Deputy Attorney General, Ms. Hascup has seen what can go wrong when young people do not have the legal representation they need. She now utilizes her vast experience, including prosecuting sex crimes as severe as aggravated sexual assault, to develop the most effective defenses for her clients. With offices in Hackensack, Little Falls, Morristown, and Camden, Alissa successfully represents juveniles and young adults in courts in Bergen County, Morris County, Passaic County, Essex County, and across New Jersey. Whether you are a minor or a college student from universities like Rutgers, Fairleigh Dickinson, Seton Hall, or Monmouth, she keeps you informed and engaged through every stage of the legal process and works tirelessly to deliver superior results. To discuss your case with Ms. Hascup and receive a cost-free consultation, contact her offices today at 862-257-1200.
Juvenile and Student Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey
Criminal sexual contact is a sexual offense enumerated in section N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3 of the New Jersey Criminal Code. According to this statute, a person is guilty of this offense when he or she has sexual contact with a victim under any of the following circumstances:
- The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury
- The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor s legal, professional or occupational status;
- The victim is at least 16 but less than 18 years old and:
- (a) The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or
- The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or
- The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household;
- The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
So, what is “sexual contact” as defined by NJ law New Jersey law defines “sexual contact” as intentional touching of the victim by the actor, intentional touching of the actor by the victim, and sexual contact by the actor with himself. This intentional touching must involve “intimate parts,” which include sexual organs, genitals, anus, inner thigh, groin, buttocks or breasts. Lastly, the sexual contact must be done for the purpose of degrading or humiliating the victim, or sexually gratifying the actor.
When You are a Minor Charged with Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey
If you are a juvenile (minor) charged with criminal sexual contact in New Jersey, your case will most likely be adjudicated within the juvenile justice system, unless the State submits a request to have you charged as an adult. If you are under the age of 18 and not charged as an adult, you will be required to appear in the Family Division of the Superior Court in the county where you live. In other words, if you are accused of criminal sexual contact in Montclair, but you live in Teaneck, you will appear in the Family Division of the Bergen County Superior Court. During the proceedings for your juvenile case, you are required to have an attorney representing you. Having an experienced juvenile sex crimes defense lawyer is absolutely essential to achieving the best outcome.
If you are found guilty of criminal sexual contact, you are technically adjudicated delinquent, which is similar to a criminal conviction for an adult. Criminal sexual contact is typically a fourth degree crime in New Jersey, which means you may be sentenced to up to 1 year in a juvenile detention center. Additionally, you may be required to register as a sex offender, per the terms of New Jersey’s Megan’s Law. If your criminal sexual contact case involves an offense that occurred before you turned 14, you can apply to be removed from Megan s Law when you turn 18. On the other hand, if you were 14 or older when the offense occurred, you must wait 15 years to apply for Megan s Law removal, just like adult sex offenders.
When You are a Student or Young Adult Charged with Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey
If you are a college student or other young adult who is 18 or older, your criminal sexual contact case will be adjudicated in the adult criminal justice system in New Jersey. This also applies if you are a juvenile charged as an adult with criminal sexual contact in New Jersey. Under any of these circumstances, you will be required to appear in the Superior Court in the county where the alleged offense occurred. For adults and juveniles charged as adults, criminal sexual contact is an indictable offense, which means you will be a convicted felon if you are ultimately found guilty.
As previously stated, criminal sexual contact is a fourth degree crime in New Jersey; however, the potential penalties for adults are much more severe than those for juveniles. Specifically, a conviction for criminal sexual contact may result in a sentence to serve up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison, in addition to sex offender registration and community supervision for life.
Contact a Hackensack NJ Underage Criminal Sexual Contact Lawyer Today
Obviously, the consequences of a conviction for criminal sexual contact in New Jersey can be devastating, which is why you need an aggressive defense attorney in your corner. If you are a juvenile or student facing these charges, or have been accused of another sex crime, Alissa Hascup can help. Contact The Law Offices of Alissa Hascup today at 862-257-1200 to find answers and learn how she can fight for you.