Palisades Park NJ Underage DWI Lawyer
Underage DUI Defense Attorney with Offices in Morristown, Hackensack, Little Falls, and Newark NJ
New Jersey takes underage DWI charges extremely seriously, perhaps because of the potentially deadly consequences of car accidents involving drunk drivers. According to the U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention, high school students drink and drive approximately 2.4 million times per month. Additionally, drivers between the ages of 16 and 20 are 17-times more likely to die in a car accident when they have a blood alcohol concentration (BAC) of 0.08% (the legal limit for adults in New Jersey), than when they have not been drinking. In 2010, 1 in 5 teenage drivers involved in fatal car crashes had some alcohol in their system and 81% of these drivers had a BAC that exceeded the legal limit for adults. Considering all of this data, it is not surprising that New Jersey law enforcement officers pursue underage drunk drivers so aggressively. When facing underage DWI charges, it is essential to know your rights. There are many potential errors that may provide grounds for a DWI dismissal in New Jersey, and enlisting an attorney who is well-versed in New Jersey’s DWI laws can truly spell the difference between a positive or negative outcome.
Alissa Hascup is a highly experienced DWI defense attorney who has successfully defended underage drivers charged with DWI across the State. Her in-depth knowledge of the legal nuances of DWI cases, from breathalyzers to field sobriety tests, as well as her experience as a former DWI Municipal Prosecutor, collides to create a formidable opponent for those who seek to prosecute her clients. With offices in Hackensack, Morristown, Little Falls, and Camden, Alissa’s practice stretches from Bergen to Morris, and Passaic to Camden counties. Her exceptional skill in the courtroom is evidenced by the myriad of awards and accolades that she has received throughout her distinguished career. For instance, Alissa was recently named among the Top 100 Trial Lawyers in the U.S., by the National Trial Lawyers Association. She has also received the Avvo.com Client’s Choice Award for the unwavering dedication that she shows to those whom she represents. To discuss your case with Alissa today, simply call 862-257-1200 for a cost-free initial consultation.
Underage DWI Lawyer in Middlesex NJ
In New Jersey, a driver under the age of 21 who is found with any trace of alcohol in their system (meaning a BAC over 0.01%) will likely face charges for underage DWI. These offenses, outlined in N.J.S.A. 39:4-50.14, are punishable by severe penalties, including fines, a period of driver’s license suspension, community service, and mandatory attendance at a State-approved Intoxicated Driver Resource Center. As an underage DWI defendant, your age and blood alcohol content at the time of the offense will determine the specific penalties to which you are exposed upon conviction.
Underage DWI with a BAC over 0.01%
If you are driving with a BAC above 0.01% but below 0.08% (the legal limit for intoxication), you may be subject to the following consequences if you are ultimately found guilty:
- A driver’s license suspension ranging from 30 to 90 days (if you are under 17, this will apply as a delay to getting your license)
- Community service for between 15 and 30 days
- Mandatory attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
- Variable fines, fees, and penalties for DWI in New Jersey
Underage DWI with a BAC over 0.08%
With a BAC over 0.08%, you are considered legally intoxicated, regardless of your age. As such, you are exposed to the same penalties as an adult charged with DWI. In addition to community service, these include:
- A driver’s license suspension ranging from 3 months to 1 year (if you are under 17, this will apply as a delay to getting your license)
- A fine ranging from $250 to $500
- A sentence to serve up to 30 days in the county jail
- Between 12 and 48 hours mandatory attendance at an Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
Contact a Mahwah NJ Underage DWI Attorney for a Free Consultation
If you or your child has been charged with underage DWI or another alcohol-related crime in New Jersey, contact The Law Offices of Alissa Hascup for immediate assistance. Ms. Hascup appears in courts in North, Central, and Southern New Jersey on a regular basis. She is passionate about protecting the interests of young people charged with offenses that may hinder their future opportunities. Call 862-257-1200 today to receive your cost-free consultation.
For additional information about underage DWI in New Jersey, view the following resource, provided by the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission.